Meaning of first house of the D-9 Navamsha chart

Hari Om Namo Narayana!

Quite often when we begin to analyze the nodal placements for any person we forget to take into account their nodal placement in the D-9 or the ‘Navamsha‘ chart.

This can be a very big mistake because our priorities invariably change in life as we begin to age and as we move from being an individual to living in a couple.

This is why analyzing the position of the nodes of the Moon in the D-9 ‘Navamsha‘ chart can give us a lot of clues to understand what any given individual’s deeper motivations in life are.

So therefore, in this series, we will be exploring each house of the D-9 ‘Navamsha‘ chart and what it means. This will also help you understand how to interpret planetary and nodal placements through houses of the ‘Navamsha‘ chart.

Now, starting with the first house of the D-9, this house has many important connotations:

  1. The first house is the house that represents the ‘existence’ in support of that chart.
  2. What this means is, the first house of the D-9 has a lot of importance in terms of the native’s married life and also the native’s principles and larger vision towards life.
  3. Individuals who possess a clarity of purpose in life about a larger plan that they are working towards, quite often have D-9 and D-60 charts that are pretty strong.
  4. Why is that? It’s because the same energies that they were born with in a certain kind of configuration, are energies that they learn to harness and direct better with time. These are then expressed in the D-9 chart by helping us understand the larger plan unfolding based on the individual’s beliefs and partnerships.
  5. See an individual’s life in ‘Vedic‘ culture has been divided into distinct ‘ashrams’ or phases of life.
  6. First comes the ‘Brahmcharya Ashram‘ then the ‘Grihasta Ashram‘ and finally the ‘Vana prastha ashram‘.
  7. Each of these stages were traditionally accompanied with a religious ceremony. This religious ceremonies can be seen through an individual’s D-9 chart.
  8. Individuals who have a strong D-9 and a strong Ninth house are individuals in whose chart is indicated, a strong predisposition towards the completion of these religious ceremonies and following the path towards higher wisdom. This is the path that is indicated by the 3 distinct ‘ashrams’ as they are structured such to align the individual towards the pursuit of a higher wisdom and higher objective towards life.

Therefore, the first house of the ‘Navamsha‘ chart becomes extremely important in judging the individual’s life path and satisfaction.

Why satisfaction? Because it is believed that the highest satisfaction can only come through the fulfillment of one’s duties and ‘dharma’ which is indicated by fulfillment of such duties in accordance to what is perceived best for society.

How so?

Well, the ‘Brahmcharya ashram‘ is structured such to ensure maximum personal development for the individual in the early stages of life. This is to enable them to become strong mentally as well as physically before they step in to take up higher responsibilities of career, partnership and society.

The ‘Grihasta ashram‘ is structured such to ensure maximum cooperation with the partner, family and involvement in the social fabric as a householder. It is in this period that the individual, along with a suitable partner, does the bulk of his or her work for society and community. The individual also raises kids to take on this mantle of family in the future.

The ‘Vanaprastha ashram‘ is structured such to ensure maximum spiritual development for the individual and their partner. It is a stage where having fulfilled their societal and familial responsibilities, the couple heads to live in the forest in harmony with nature.

The idea is for individuals to ‘consciously’ let go of physical and material attachments and develop themselves spiritually and become closer to the esoteric side of life.

Living in the forests is one way of living harmony with nature as well as society. This is indicated as a way to separate themselves from the good as well as bad aspects of the social structure, whatever they may be and leave it to the next generations to find what truths are relevant for them in their times and run society from those perspectives without the interference of people who lived and functioned in different times.

Now when you look at the first house of the D-9 chart, this is essentially all that you’re seeing.

Yes specifically these ‘ashrams’ can be seen from the houses of the D-9 however primarily we see in the first house whether the individual will indeed be able to experience the entire breadth of responsibilities and experiences, duties etc. that come with the role and responsibilities of being a part of society.

It also shows the individual’s personality in the second half of life.

We can also use it to understand how the priorities of the individual changes in the second half of life.

Somebody with a 1-7 axis of ‘Rahu-Ketu‘ in the D-1 chart if continues to have the 1-7 axis even in the D-9 chart, it shows that the individual’s priorities don’t change much in later life.

The individual continues to follow the same principles of work and focus on all the aspects of life that were of importance before the individual came in a partnership or became more ‘mature’ wrt their life path.

On the other hand, a reversal of the nodal axis in the D-9 ‘Navamsha‘ chart will point towards an individual who struggles to retain their individuality in partnerships.

Such individuals tend to struggle to balance their identities with and outside their partnerships and the execution and fulfillment of personal principles.

In the same way we can study other planetary placements wrt the D-1 and D-9 charts.

For example, the placement of Sun in the ‘Navamsha‘ chart will show based on the house placement, which area of life the individual finds their confidence in the second half of life. It will also show us how this changes wrt where the individual found confidence in the earlier part of life.

For example, for someone whose Sun placement shifts from the 12th house in D-1 to the 5th house in the ‘Navamsha kundli‘, we can say that the individual’s personality changes from finding oneself through spirituality and isolation (12th house) to expression and power (5th house).

This way you can look at the comparison for each of the other planets as well. Here’s what they mean in terms of personality aspects:

  1. Mars shows where you give most of your energy.
  2. Moon shows where you are most comfortable.
  3. Venus shows where you feel most abundant.
  4. Ketu‘ shows where you have natural mastery.
  5. Rahu‘ shows where you have a natural inclination towards and also the most room for growth.
  6. Jupiter shows where you are the most giving.
  7. Mercury shows where and what you spend the most time learning.
  8. Saturn shows where you work the hardest.

Hope this helps!

Hari Om Namo Narayana!

To book a reading, feel free to visit the scheduling page.

Published by Jay Kaushal

Jay Kaushal is a Writer, Motivational Speaker and Life Coach with double PGs in International Business Operation & Marketing. He has cross disciplinary expertise in the fields of Business, Wellness, 'Tantra', 'Vedic' Astrology, Personal Transformation and Leadership.

One thought on “Meaning of first house of the D-9 Navamsha chart

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: